Community grants

We run a community grant round once a year and offer grants of up to $10,000 for projects bringing social, road safety and environmental benefits to communities in Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane near Transurban's roads.

Grants are open to a wide range of organisations and initiatives and we encourage inclusion, diversity of thought and innovation.

New grant recipients

First Nations

As part of our commitment to reconciliation (and our RAP), at least one grant in each eligible state will be awarded to a First Nations organisation or initiative.

People’s choice

This year Linkt customers and Transurban staff will have the chance to vote for grant recipients, with a People’s Choice grant awarded to one organisation or initiative in each eligible state. Information on how to vote will be available soon.

Grant eligibility and requirements

Deductible Gift Recipient (DGR) status

Your organisation must have Deductible Gift Recipient (DGR) status to be eligible for a grant. Your DGR must be listed with the Australian Tax Office in line with the Income Tax Assessment Act 1936 (Item 1 of the table in Section 30-15).

Check the DGR status of your organisation here: ATO ABN lookup website.

  • Ineligible organisations

    Our community grants program is not open to:  

    • for-profit organisations
    • government departments (except schools) or political groups
    • labour, trade or business organisations
    • social clubs
    • overtly religious groups (except initiatives that support a non-religious purpose)
    • fundraising events such as raffles, telethons, walk-a-thons or auctions
    • chairs, endowments or scholarships sponsored by academic or non-profit institutions
    • special events such as conferences, symposia or sports competitions
    • organisations that support or participate in activities inconsistent with our Diversity Policy
    • cover ongoing administrative costs
    • projects or events that have already occurred.

Eligible local council areas

Your initiative must be located in a local council area with a Transurban road, as listed below.


Merri-bek City Council (formerly Moreland)
Moonee Valley City Council
Maribyrnong City Council
Hobsons Bay City Council
City of Port Phillip
City of Melbourne
Yarra City Council
City of Boroondara
City of Stonnington


Brisbane City Council
Logan City Council
Ipswich City Council

New South Wales

City of Sydney
Randwick City Council
Bayside Council
Inner West Council
Willoughby City Council
Hornsby Shire Council
The Hills Shire Council
City of Parramatta
City of Ryde
Lane Cove Council
North Sydney Council
Ku-ring-gai Council
City of Canterbury-Bankstown
Georges River Council
Fairfield City Council 
Blacktown City Council 
Penrith City Council 
Woollahra Municipal Council 
Burwood Council 
City of Canada Bay Council 
Strathfield Council 
Cumberland City Council 
Liverpool City Council

More information

Contact us about guidelines, deadlines and anything else here: