Sarah Ryan

Independent Non-executive Director


BSc (Geology), BSc (Geophysics) (Hons 1), PhD (Petroleum and Geophysics), FTSE, MAICD

Term of office

Appointed to the Board on 1 September 2023

Skills and experience 

Sarah is an experienced non-executive director and former energy executive with more than 30 years of international experience in the oil and gas industry.

Sarah is currently a Non-executive Director of Viva Energy Group Limited (since 2018), Aurizon Holdings Limited (since 2019), Calix Limited (since 2024) and Future Battery Industries Co-operative Research Centre (since 2020). She is also a Strategic Advisory Panel Member of the ARC Centre of Excellence for Green Electrochemical Transformation of Carbon Dioxide (since 2023) and Chair of the Energy Forum for the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (ATSE) (since 2022).

As an executive, Sarah held various technical, operational and leadership roles at a number of oil and gas and oilfield services companies, including 15 years with Schlumberger Ltd both in Australia and overseas. She also has a decade of experience in North America and Australia as a director of institutional investment firm Earnest Partners covering the firm’s investments in natural resources and associated sectors worldwide, including engineering and construction.

She is a former Non-executive Director of Woodside Energy Group Limited, Oz Minerals Limited, MPC Kinetic and Norwegian listed Akastor ASA.

Board Committee membership

Member of the Nomination Committee